sfp02 Mikael Fyrek “Directors Cut”

Mikael Fyrek Directors Cut cover

cover artwork by Yumiko Hoshi (printable PDF version included on the complete release)

audio preview (medium quality):
[audio:http://stream.softphase.org/sfp02/mikael_fyrek-01-nothing_but_memories-stream.mp3,http://stream.softphase.org/sfp02/mikael_fyrek-02-there_was_a_sudden_silence-stream.mp3,http://stream.softphase.org/sfp02/mikael_fyrek-03-under_the_violet_sky-stream.mp3,http://stream.softphase.org/sfp02/mikael_fyrek-04-a_dream_i_never_had-stream.mp3,http://stream.softphase.org/sfp02/mikael_fyrek-05-if_i_look_back_i_am_lost-stream.mp3,http://stream.softphase.org/sfp02/mikael_fyrek-06-xerxes_theme-stream.mp3,http://stream.softphase.org/sfp02/mikael_fyrek-07-somehow_somewhere_sometime-stream.mp3|titles=Nothing but memories,There was a sudden silence,Under the violet sky,A dream I never had,If I look back I am lost,Xerxes theme,Somehow somewhere sometime|artists=Mikael Fyrek,Mikael Fyrek,Mikael Fyrek,Mikael Fyrek,Mikael Fyrek,Mikael Fyrek,Mikael Fyrek]

“Continuing the tour on the arctic circles, our second release is a mini-album with epic
proportions, coming from Sweden. Mikael Fyrek, old-school musician known from the cinematic
releases on Kahvi Collective netlabel, not to forget the vocal collaboration project Tang Kai.
Directors Cut being the rather fitting title, this album have been on it’s way for a long time,
it has seen many dramas, it has been sculpted and shaped again countless times. Yet still,
the finished result seem like a consistent piece crafted with love and care, with great
attention to detail, from beginning to end. You can sense the influence from the golden era
of synthesizer pop, combined with the sounds of today. This movie soundtrack alike album
invites you to have a closer listen, let yourself go of the daily routines for a brief moment,
lose yourself in a dream. The author wishes to thank Niclaz Erlingmark for writing, Aaron Harris
for performing the lyrics on the closing track Somehow, Somewhere, Sometime.”


download the invidual tracks (high quality MP3):
01 “Nothing but memories” [download] [mirror] [archive.org]
02 “There was a sudden silence” [download] [mirror] [archive.org]
03 “Under the violet sky” [download] [mirror] [archive.org]
04 “A dream I never had” [download] [mirror] [archive.org]
05 “If I look back, I am lost” [download] [mirror] [archive.org]
06 “Xerxes theme” [download] [mirror] [archive.org]
07 “Somehow, somewhere, sometime” [download] [mirror] [archive.org]

Download the complete release in MP3 format, 78 MB zip file from:
[main site] [mirror] [archive.org]

Download the complete release in FLAC format, 216 MB zip file from:
[main site] [mirror] [archive.org]

Licensed under the Creative Commons 3.0 non-commercial license.

(download bandwidth provided by Currahee Hosting for the mirror, thank you.)


  1. Fat music from a good guy! If you guys cannot SEE the high rise buildings when listening to this you are probably without imagination! ;) Also see the arctic truth, the withering of the souls and hear the beauty summoned by the great musical poet that is Mikael Fyrek! Melancholy holy!

    Great work man.

  2. Great work indeed,these seven tracks sound very nice as they are made and mixed very well,I would say without dubt they sound professional.
    Mr Fyrek’s percussion and drums as always are very particular,the basslines are very solid,and I like how he builds the harmoni es,like a rainfall that starts with little drops and later on becomes delicately strong.
    My fav tracks are ‘Under the violet sky’ and ‘A dream I never had’.

  3. Seven more reasons why Mikael Fyrek remains at the top of the list of my favorites. Peace, Light, and Love – William

  4. (russian lng.)
    Отличная музыка. Благодаря вам, я поменяю свой плеер на тот, который поддерживает FLAC ;)
    Еще хочу сказать, что такие как вы, сейчас, изменяют наш мир. Теперь люди могут слушать не только то, что им навязывают в музыкальных магазинах и производят из-за денег. Музыка построенная на принципе свободного распространения, гораздо более качественная и интересная, потому что является действительно произведением и не написана в угоду мейнстрима или чьего-либо мнения или вкуса.

    (translate with google to eng. :)
    Excellent music. Thanks to you, I change my player to the one that supports FLAC;)
    Still want to say that like you, now, change our world. Now people can hear not only that they impose in the record shops and produce because of the money. Music based on the principle of free circulation, a much higher quality and more interesting, because it is really the product and is not written to suit the mainstream, or anyone’s opinion or taste.

  5. Absolutely great music. I come down here to see where Planet Boelex had published Little World.
    Thx much.

  6. Hello, heard your music on the space music podcast, global feed. Like your music, downloading now, attempting to anyway- p.s sweet title for a song: a dream i never had


  7. Absolutely fantastic album, every track is flawless. Been listening to it alongside playing Fallout 3, fits real nice with the post-apocalyptic feel.
    After downloading this I got some other of your other works from Kahvi, and to no surprise, it was all brilliant!

    Keep it up!

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *