sfp12 NCThompson “Another Quiet Winter”

cover artwork by NCThompson

audio preview (medium quality):
[audio:http://stream.softphase.org/sfp12/ncthompson-01-another_quiet_winter-stream.mp3,http://stream.softphase.org/sfp12/ncthompson-02-for_a_million-stream.mp3,http://stream.softphase.org/sfp12/ncthompson-03-a_silent_goodbye-stream.mp3,http://stream.softphase.org/sfp12/ncthompson-04-nakukosa-stream.mp3,http://stream.softphase.org/sfp12/ncthompson-05-over_the_horizon_pt_1-stream.mp3,http://stream.softphase.org/sfp12/ncthompson-06-saying_goodnight-stream.mp3,|titles=Another Quiet Winter,For A Million,A Silent Goodbye,Nakukosa,Over The Horizon Pt.1,Saying Goodnight|artists=NCThompson,NCThompson,NCThompson,NCThompson,NCThompson,NCThompson]

Introducing and welcoming a new discovery, meet artist called NCThompson. We are
pleased to announce the debut release from this american musician, who’s provided
us with six wonderfully melodic little pieces that connect together as “Another Quiet
Winter” EP. While the winter is still cold, one could absorb tiny bits of warmth through
these dreamy, slightly melancholic tunes with plenty of beautiful piano lines, along with
strings and downtempo rhythm. The day seems a bit lighter, we’re left hoping we could
let you hear more works from this promising new talent in the future on Soft Phase.
Few thoughts from the artist himself:

“I think the title of this release almost says it all. These songs just seem connected by
the loneliness of looking up and seeing nothing but a cold gray sky; when all that’s left
is a longing feeling for times once passed. And as depressing as that may sound, I think
there’s something to be said for the kind of emotions that such longing can inspire.”

Additional credits: mastering by Christopher Leary at Melograf Mastering

download the invidual tracks (high quality MP3):
01 “Another Quiet Winter” [download] [mirror] [archive.org]
02 “For A Million” [download] [mirror] [archive.org]
03 “A Silent Goodbye” [download] [mirror] [archive.org]
04 “Nakukosa” [download] [mirror] [archive.org]
05 “Over The Horizon Pt. 1” [download] [mirror] [archive.org]
06 “Saying Goodnight” [download] [mirror] [archive.org]

Download the complete release in MP3 format, 49 MB zip file from:
[main site] [mirror] [archive.org]

Download the complete release in FLAC format, 127 MB zip file from:
[main site] [mirror] [archive.org]

Licensed under the Creative Commons 3.0 non-commercial license.


  1. Hey Nick,
    This is wonderful. so relaxing and de-stressing. Just what I need. I think I will load it onto my I-pod today. thanks for sharing!! good luck with the release!! : ) congradulations!! Mrs. H

  2. I sit here before the monitor staring at a point infinitely far away, beyond plastic, liquid crystal, wire, silicon, plastic, wall, concrete, air, clouds, atmosphere, extreme cold… and it’s exactly like being there in the big open nothingness and looking back to this tiny place.

    (saying goodnight)

  3. Very nice! My favorite is “Saying Goodnight”, but all others are also very good. Many thanks for this release.

  4. Fantastic sounds! It feels ethereal, like it came from the heavens.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *