sfp13 Planet Boelex “Raja”

cover artwork by Matt Whyman

audio preview (medium quality):
[audio:http://stream.softphase.org/sfp13/planet_boelex-01-soft_shapes-stream.mp3,http://stream.softphase.org/sfp13/planet_boelex-02-not_from_here-with_lisas_antenna-stream.mp3,http://stream.softphase.org/sfp13/planet_boelex-03-suddenly-with_mikael_fyrek-stream.mp3,http://stream.softphase.org/sfp13/planet_boelex-04-new_beginning-stream.mp3,http://stream.softphase.org/sfp13/planet_boelex-05-sailors_dilemma-stream.mp3|titles=Soft Shapes,Not From Here,Suddenly,New Beginning,Sailors Dilemma|artists=Planet Boelex,Planet Boelex & Lisa’s antenna,Planet Boelex & Mikael Fyrek,Planet Boelex,Planet Boelex]

“Many musicians defy musical convention. Very few can transport the listener
beyond established boundaries without leaving them feeling lost. For six years,
Planet Boelex has been creating music that is quite simply out of this world.
So, it’s playfully fitting that ‘Raja’, this much anticipated EP from the Finnish
musician, is a title that translates as ‘boundary’ or ‘limits’. Over five elegant,
entrancing tracks, ‘Raja’ has the capacity to transport you high above the clouds
and hundreds of leagues below the surface of the ocean. It redefines melody,
and somehow teases sublime sonic compositions from static. This is organic
electronica, underpinned by glitched beats that could come from chattering
computers abandoned on a scrapheap. Planet Boelex spins on a slower axis
this time around. The results, at times majestic and reflective, mournful and
uplifting, bring lasting rewards to listeners old and new.” — Matt Whyman

additional credits:
track 2 “Not From Here”: collaboration with Lisa’s antenna
track 3 “Suddenly”: collaboration with Mikael Fyrek
track 5 “Sailor’s Dilemma”: acoustic guitar & additional loops by Mosaik

cover artwork and release notes by Matt Whyman
logo design by Stewart Fritz

download the invidual tracks (high quality MP3):
01 “Soft Shapes” [download] [mirror] [archive.org]
02 “Not From Here” (with Lisa’s antenna) [download] [mirror] [archive.org]
03 “Suddenly” (with Mikael Fyrek) [download] [mirror] [archive.org]
04 “New Beginning” [download] [mirror] [archive.org]
05 “Sailor’s dilemma” [download] [mirror] [archive.org]

Download the complete release in MP3 format, 67 MB zip file from:
[main site] [mirror] [archive.org]

Download the complete release in FLAC format, 143 MB zip file from:
[main site] [mirror] [archive.org]

Licensed under the Creative Commons 3.0 non-commercial license.


  1. Certainly a quieter release than his previous work, but the signature deep sound is abundant. These work well as a transition piece towards something new, perhaps.

    I especially liked New Beginning and Sailor’s Dilemma.

  2. Gorgeous organic stuff with hints of Bola and Vangelis, all tightly packaged in the Boelex signature sound.
    Certainly a bit sadder and on the darker side, this is a great journey through Boelex’s world.

    Very subtle and gentle, yet completely captivating.. Good job and thanks for keeping it free.

  3. And then it happened, right out where the edge of the town meets the shoreline. Everyone seen it, but few found the words afterwards to tell what happened. We heard five stories of the great miracle: five different ones. But you could see the same thing in their eyes.

  4. Another solid and satisfying work from Planet Boelex. Soft Shapes sounds quasi anthemic and has great dynamic buildup. Beautiful lyricism and deep moving bass throughout. Wonderful contributions from Lisa’s Antenna, Mosaik and Mikael Fyrek. A gem of an EP.

  5. Very high quality job throughout, this ep sounds professional, as every detail is set in perfect order.
    My fav. tracks are: the hypnotic “Suddenly”, the epic, sweet and a bit sad “New Beginning” and the last one meditative “Sailor’s dilemma” (I live in a sea village :D)

  6. I just about leapt out of my chair when I came home and saw this album! It’s a fantastic piece of work. Thanks.

  7. “I just about leapt out of my chair when I came home and saw this album!”

    Same here :-) PB’s music has been enthralling me for years. To see collabs with M. Fyrek & Lisa’s Antenna, and input from Mozaik, is just to much to ignore.

    Thank you for more of your work, Planet Boelex, you never fail to impress.

  8. This is probably the most beautiful music I’ve heard this year. Thank you, Planet Boelex, I’ll be passing the link along to my friends for sure.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *