sfp15 Weldroid “Splines”

cover artwork by Kriszta Mátrai.

audio preview (medium quality):
[audio:http://stream.softphase.org/sfp15/weldroid-01-resurrect-stream.mp3,http://stream.softphase.org/sfp15/weldroid-02-nectarine-stream.mp3,http://stream.softphase.org/sfp15/weldroid-03-willow_branches-stream.mp3,http://stream.softphase.org/sfp15/weldroid-04-under_the_right_star-stream.mp3,http://stream.softphase.org/sfp15/weldroid-05-csillagok-stream.mp3|titles=Resurrect,Nectarine,Willow Branches,Under The Right Star,Csillagok|artists=Weldroid,Weldroid,Weldroid,Weldroid,Weldroid]

“Hungarian musician Weldroid, known for his bionic, bitcrushing releases on Kahvi,
debuts on Soft Phase with a new EP. “Splines” is the tale of a mechanical man
in search of his maker.

While Weldroid retains his signature robotic elements — pounding electronic beats,
glittering circuitry, bone-deep bass, growling horn voices backed by minor ambient
drones — there’s a warmer, human side to this album. An underlying natural pulse,
the heartbeat of a world in need of saving. The power of hope and steadfast
resolve. A lonely android wandering through vast, forgotten caverns, through
luminescent pools of coolant, assaulted by chaotic code fragments, blasted by
crystal-edged melodies and chilled, stuttering data streams.

Weldroid takes us on a journey through static-filled wastelands, tracking the
stumbling footsteps of the mechanical man as he braves windblown grit and
harsh sine waves. Glitched rhythms and plastic melodies are his only
companions. A burnished bronze city gleams in the distance, at its rusted
heart is the promise of restoration. The ancient machinery of “Splines” still
throbs and sizzles with purpose, yearning to be awakened.” — Joshua Saddler

Additional credits:
Track 5 “Csillagok”: includes a motif from a traditional Hungarian folk song.

download the invidual tracks (high quality MP3):
01 “Resurrect” [download] [mirror] [archive.org]
02 “Nectarine” [download] [mirror] [archive.org]
03 “Willow Branches” [download] [mirror] [archive.org]
04 “Under The Right Star” [download] [mirror] [archive.org]
05 “Csillagok” [download] [mirror] [archive.org]

Download the complete release in MP3 format, 70 MB zip file from:
[main site] [mirror] [archive.org]

Download the complete release in FLAC format, 167 MB zip file from:
[main site] [mirror] [archive.org]

Licensed under the Creative Commons 3.0 non-commercial license.


  1. Yet another professional addition to the superb Soft Phase catalogue. This release is outstanding and is but another example of the high quality that is the hallmark of this net label.

  2. Thanks very much for the download,my website won’t be UP and running until next week!can’t wait to give this a proper listen…good luck to Soft Phase and Weldroid in everything you do in the future!

  3. Y E S – absolutely exellent work – Jean Michel Jarre is dead –
    all thats left to say is more more more please ! ! !

  4. I’m back here to download the backcatalouge, since I left off. The seventeen releases are quite excellent, and it needs to be said. Thank you! <3

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *