sfp17 Outra-G “Light Drops EP”

cover artwork by Sony G. (Uselabs)

audio preview (medium quality):
[audio:http://stream.softphase.org/sfp17/outra-g-01-tezukas_song-stream.mp3,http://stream.softphase.org/sfp17/outra-g-02-angels_with_dirty_faces-stream.mp3,http://stream.softphase.org/sfp17/outra-g-03-frames-stream.mp3,http://stream.softphase.org/sfp17/outra-g-04-diving_bells-stream.mp3,http://stream.softphase.org/sfp17/outra-g-05-close_to_you-stream.mp3,http://stream.softphase.org/sfp17/outra-g-06-rayleigh_scattering-stream.mp3,http://stream.softphase.org/sfp17/outra-g-07-dandelion-stream.mp3,http://stream.softphase.org/sfp17/outra-g-08-like_the_whirlwind_you_arrived_in-part_ii-your_taste-stream.mp3|titles=Tezuka’s Song,Angels With Dirty Faces,Frames,Diving Bells,Close To You,Rayleigh Scattering,Dandelion,Like The Whirlwind You Arrived In Part II|artists=Outra-G,Outra-G,Outra-G,Outra-G,Outra-G,Outra-G,Outra-G,Outra-G]

“Spanish artist Outra-g debuts on Soft Phase with a surpassingly lovely EP. “Light Drops”
is a sonic tour of re-imagined lunar landscapes. We launch with shimmering, warbling chords
and subsonic, throbbing bass, our engines humming as Outra-g flies us low over blinding
white deserts, all sharp-edged shadows and faint radio chatter. Crackling, hissing wet
percussion accompanies us as we skim across strange new jungles, dipping down to the
edge of a glittering ocean, its churning tides foaming with electrofuzz. Steady, distorted
beats and blips, like far-flung light drops from distant stars, rain down, softening the edges
of ancient craters, gently reshaping the moon’s face.

The album closes with a look back at Earth, a fragile jewel hanging in velvet-black space,
its jumble of clouds and whirlwinds slowly spinning across the deep blue.” — Joshua Saddler

Additional credits: Lyrics on track 8 by María Zambruno.

download the invidual tracks (high quality MP3):
01 “Tezuka’s Song” [download] [mirror] [archive.org]
02 “Angels With Dirty Faces” [download] [mirror] [archive.org]
03 “Frames” [download] [mirror] [archive.org]
04 “Diving Bells” [download] [mirror] [archive.org]
05 “Close To You” [download] [mirror] [archive.org]
06 “Rayleigh Scattering” [download] [mirror] [archive.org]
07 “Dandelion” [download] [mirror] [archive.org]
08 “Like The Whirlwind You Arrived In, Part II (Your Taste)” [download] [mirror] [archive.org]

Download the complete release in MP3 format, 66 MB zip file from:
[main site] [mirror] [archive.org]

Download the complete release in FLAC format, 157 MB zip file from:
[main site] [mirror] [archive.org]

Licensed under the Creative Commons 3.0 non-commercial license.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *