a nordic netlabel :: freely downloadable music

sfp04 Coax “Artifacts And Discovery”

cover artwork by Jeroen Advocaat

audio preview (medium quality):
[audio:http://stream.softphase.org/sfp04/coax-01-ziobelia-stream.mp3,http://stream.softphase.org/sfp04/coax-02-blue_racer-stream.mp3,http://stream.softphase.org/sfp04/coax-03-artemis_dream_1-stream.mp3,http://stream.softphase.org/sfp04/coax-04-the_gate-stream.mp3,http://stream.softphase.org/sfp04/coax-05-sil-stream.mp3,http://stream.softphase.org/sfp04/coax-06-atomic_winter-stream.mp3,http://stream.softphase.org/sfp04/coax-07-reincarnation-stream.mp3,http://stream.softphase.org/sfp04/coax-08-xenolith-stream.mp3,http://stream.softphase.org/sfp04/coax-09-the_journey-stream.mp3,http://stream.softphase.org/sfp04/coax-10-artemis_dream_2-stream.mp3,http://stream.softphase.org/sfp04/coax-11-abyss-stream.mp3,http://stream.softphase.org/sfp04/coax-12-evermore-stream.mp3,http://stream.softphase.org/sfp04/coax-13-waves-stream.mp3,http://stream.softphase.org/sfp04/coax-14-the_jagged_edge-stream.mp3,http://stream.softphase.org/sfp04/coax-15-aura_reading-stream.mp3|titles=Ziobelia,Blue Racer,Artemis Dream 1,The Gate,Sil,Atomic Winter,Reincarnation,Xenolith,The Journey,Artemis Dream 2,Abyss,Evermore,Waves,The Jagged Edge,Aura Reading|artists=Coax,Coax,Coax,Coax,Coax,Coax,Coax,Coax,Coax,Coax,Coax,Coax,Coax,Coax,Coax]

“Our fourth release is a full length album from norwegian artist Coax,
who has previously made appearances on Kahvi and Monotonik netlabels.
Artifacts And Discovery being the title, the album is a wonderfully varied
combination of ambient softness, dramatic orchestral pieces, sensitive piano
interludes, science fiction movie atmosphere, all spiced up with the occasional
electronic rhythms. At times, you feel like you have landed on the surface
of an unknown planet, feel the tension build as you look around and there is
nothing but unexplored terrain surrounding you. Then, as the album goes
further, the next moment.. the dreamy string ensemble capture your attention,
you begin to feel safe and comfortable again. Enchanted with the beautiful
harmonies, you watch the clouds passing by, happy memories from the past
are filling your mind, you feel like floating. Close your eyes,
enter the intriguing world of Artifacts And Discovery.”

Coax is also in process of releasing a CD album titled “The Third Mobius”,
which includes 6 tracks already presented here. Professionally mastered
and including stunning cover artwork by Jeroen Advocaat. For more details,
see the micro-site for the album: http://www.coaxmusic.com/coax-the-third-mobius-cd-2009


download the invidual tracks (high quality MP3):
01 “Ziobelia” [download] [mirror] [archive.org]
02 “Blue Racer” [download] [mirror] [archive.org]
03 “Artemis Dream 1” [download] [mirror] [archive.org]
04 “The Gate” [download] [mirror] [archive.org]
05 “Sil” [download] [mirror] [archive.org]
06 “Atomic Winter” [download] [mirror] [archive.org]
07 “Reincarnation” [download] [mirror] [archive.org]
08 “Xenolith” [download] [mirror] [archive.org]
09 “The Journey” [download] [mirror] [archive.org]
10 “Artemis Dream 2” [download] [mirror] [archive.org]
11 “Abyss” [download] [mirror] [archive.org]
12 “Evermore” [download] [mirror] [archive.org]
13 “Waves” [download] [mirror] [archive.org]
14 “The Jagged Edge” [download] [mirror] [archive.org]
15 “Aura Reading” [download] [mirror] [archive.org]


Download the complete release in MP3 format, 85 MB zip file from:
[main site] [mirror] [archive.org]

Download the complete release in FLAC format, 273 MB zip file from:
[main site] [mirror] [archive.org]

Licensed under the Creative Commons 3.0 non-commercial license.

(download bandwidth provided by Currahee Hosting for the mirror, thank you.)

This entry was posted on Friday, April 3rd, 2009 at 9:10 and is filed under Releases. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

9 Responses to “sfp04 Coax “Artifacts And Discovery””

  1. April 3rd, 2009 at 19:39

    Dan the Music Master says:

    Thanks for the links. I like the Jeroen Advocaat art work.

  2. April 4th, 2009 at 15:45

    [sfp04] Coax - Artifacts And Discovery « Netaudio Stuff says:

    […] Release Page […]

  3. June 5th, 2009 at 13:46

    James Wilmington says:

    Hi Coax!

    I listened to your most recent “Artifacts and Discovery” album. Its really good. I like the mixture of true ambient, and tracks with bit more of a ‘beat’ in some tracks. My favourite so far it the last track “Aura Reading” as i love the piano. To me it sounds a little like Ludovico Einaudi. Possibly you know of this artist?

    I imagine listening to this album in an Urban Apocalypse, where cars are left abandoned on the street, and the wind blows paper and rubbish around a quiet environment. But thats just me! I;m sure we all have our own ‘ambient place’.

    Thanks again!

  4. September 25th, 2009 at 7:10

    Coax – Artifacts And Discovery | FreeMusic4All says:

    […] DOWNLOAD PAGE […]

  5. December 4th, 2009 at 12:57

    Musikadvent: Mogwai’s Lieblingsmusik 2009 | Phlow says:

    […] Commons Albums 2009Norman Fairbanks – Corporate LiesX-Structure – Westcoast Trip (Bushmen Records)Coax – Artifacts And Discovery" (Soft Phase)Blessed House – Holly Residents (Budabeats)Shepherd – Riddle Of The Unflocked (Acroplane […]

  6. February 22nd, 2010 at 9:14

    Netlabel gems – Ambience « DJ Soma – mixes & reviews says:

    […] Artifacts & Discovery […]

  7. October 10th, 2010 at 22:22

    Barry Forbes says:

    Cheers for this,Blue Racer sounds brilliant,can’t wait to hear the rest of this,thanks once again!

  8. October 30th, 2010 at 17:07

    Kristian's thoughts about music and sound » Blog Archive » Label spotlight: SoftPhase says:

    […] makes music with a strong passion and visual aspect to it. His two releases on SoftPhase are “Artifacts and Discovery [sfp04]” and “From the Endless Auburn [sfp14]“. The music’s cinematic qualities are […]

  9. January 20th, 2012 at 17:33

    Label spotlight: SoftPhase says:

    […] makes music with a strong passion and visual aspect to it. His two releases on SoftPhase are “Artifacts and Discovery [sfp04]” and “From the Endless Auburn […]

Leave feedback about the release