a nordic netlabel :: freely downloadable music

sfp20 Planet Boelex “Exist”

Exist marks the return to this world of the Finnish electronic musician,
Planet Boelex. His decision to disappear from the scene following the acclaimed
2010 release, Raja, served to dismay and perplex. Artists with integrity tend
to retire when they have nothing more to say, and yet here was one consistently
pushing at frontiers. Perhaps his reasons should remain unexplained. This way,
we can submit to these six new tracks as if they’ve just floated in from some
other realm.

From the opening notes, this is a listening experience designed to evolve. Where
Planet Boelex excels is in drawing you back again and again to make endless new
discoveries. There is in fact a complex musical gravity at work here. Melodies
rise and fall outside of conventional rhythms, sailing with trusted collaborators
at times, and the result is quietly awe-inspiring. Whether or not we hear more
from Planet Boelex in future, Exist is a timeless offering.” — Matt Whyman


Additional credits (partial, full credits included with the release):
cover artwork: Photography “The Tumble” by Giles P Croft, processing by Matt Whyman
Tracks 01-03 & 05-06 Mastering by Christopher Leary at Melograf Mastering
Track 04 Mastering by Christofer Stannow at Cosmos Mastering
Track 04 Words & vocals by Krister Linder
Track 02 Words & vocals by Lisa’s antenna

download the individual tracks (320 kbps MP3):
01 Planet Boelex “Exist” [download] [mirror] [archive.org]
02 Planet Boelex & Lisa’s antenna “Stay” [download] [mirror] [archive.org]
03 Planet Boelex & Mosaik “Space Walrus” [download] [mirror] [archive.org]
04 Krister Linder “The Great Surrender” (Planet Boelex remix) [download] [mirror] [archive.org]
05 Planet Boelex & bad loop “Unreasonable Reasoning” [download] [mirror] [archive.org]
06 Planet Boelex “Leaving Quietly” (Weldroid remix) [download] [mirror] [archive.org]

Download the complete release in MP3 format, 103 MB zip file from:
[main site] [mirror] [archive.org]

Download the complete release in FLAC format, 253 MB zip file from:
[main site] [mirror] [archive.org]

Licensed under the Creative Commons 3.0 non-commercial license.

This entry was posted on Wednesday, August 28th, 2013 at 9:02 and is filed under Releases. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

9 Responses to “sfp20 Planet Boelex “Exist””

  1. August 30th, 2013 at 9:14

    Tony Fink says:

    Planet Boelex is one of my earliest inspirations to be an artist. His dedication to the small details and taking as much time as necessary is profound and edifying. Of course, he and his friends have created another great masterpiece, one which I will treasure and listen to very often, and some day, share with my children. Bravo!

  2. September 3rd, 2013 at 16:01

    In My Ears: Planet Boelex - Exist | The CerebralRift says:

    […] Artist: Planet Boelex Title: Exist Release Date: Aug 31, 2013 License: CC BY-NC-ND Release Label / Page: Softphase […]

  3. September 5th, 2013 at 9:47

    planet boelex - Exist | Netlabelism says:

    […] Release Link: Planet Boelex – Exist […]

  4. October 18th, 2013 at 21:31

    Leermond says:

    Wonderful. Track 4 is great. Heard it at spacemusic.nl

  5. November 18th, 2013 at 15:40

    Late Frost, Episode #2: November 18, 2013 | Late Frost Podcast says:

    […] — Planet Boelex, from the “Exist” EP, available from the Soft Phase Netlabel.  Please visit Planet Boelex’s webpage for more info about this talented artist and to […]

  6. December 30th, 2013 at 22:39

    Best of 2013 | Netlabelism Magazine says:

    […] and good vibes. #2. Planet Boelex – Exist Label: Softphase release date: 28.08.2013 Download link Softphase releases very seldomly, and all of their releases are usually worth a good listen. This […]

  7. February 23rd, 2014 at 14:06

    TomCast 009: A Nordic Adventure | TomHoyle[dot]WordPress[dot]com says:

    […] Boelex – Exist (http://softphase.org/netlabel/releases/sfp20) [Soft Phase […]

  8. April 23rd, 2014 at 18:16

    #Netlabel Soft Phase sfp20 Planet Boelex “Exist” - VKRS says:

    […] Netlabel Soft Phase Source link […]

  9. December 17th, 2015 at 1:10

    Argaï says:

    I discover Planet boelex for the first time in #Solipsistic_Nation show podcast.Depuis lors je place cet artiste dans la cour des grands, parmi les poids les plus lourds…

Leave feedback about the release